I’m New At This

A few weeks ago, I was in Borders and this incredibly cute guy who works there asked if I needed help finding anything. I said that I was just looking around, so he smiled and walked away. My default response to people in stores who ask if I need help is to say that I’m just looking. Once I realized this guy was really cute, I was kicking myself for not saying something better. Maybe I could have pretended like I needed help so I could have more interaction with him. The only thing left to do was to look at him from a distance, since that’s what you do with unattainable eye-candy, right?

I started watching him move around the bookstore and talk to other employees. He noticed that I was looking a couple times, to which I averted my glance immediately (which really made me look even more guilty). I went to the customer service desk and wrote my name, number, and email address on a piece of paper so that if I got the nerve to talk to him again, I would be prepared.

At a certain point, he told one of his coworkers that he was going on break, and he started moving toward the front entrance to leave. I thought, it’s now or never. Summoning all my courage, I walked out the door right behind him, walked up next to him and said “Hi.”

He said hi back. I didn’t know what to say after that (I hadn’t thought that far ahead), so I said, “Sorry, I’m new at this,” to which he replied, “You mean hitting on guys?” He was really nice about the whole thing. First he asked how old I was (which I thought was funny, he didn’t look his age either), and then he said he was flattered but was already seeing someone.

I’m 25 years old and I have had very few romantic experiences. My experience flirting and dating is next to nothing. Getting up the nerve to talk to the Borders guy was a big step for me. But ultimately, I still have a long way to go. My problem (one of many) is that I get super awkward around gay guys. I think it stems from the fact that I don’t have any gay friends in my social circle. That’s my fault, of course, because I’m not outgoing enough to make gay friends. But when I see gay guys, I get awkward. The reasoning is a bit circular.

I hope in the near future, I will again step out of my comfort zone and approach people I want to get to know. Otherwise, my pick up line will always be “I’m new at this.”

5 Responses to “I’m New At This”

  1. Amy Says:

    Well, I for one am proud of you…. It takes guts to hit on guys! My advice is, start slow by having a few drinks then writing your phone number on the bar tab. Waiters are hot. 😉

  2. Making Friends Is Hard « Normal Boy Says:

    […] Remember the cute boy who works at Borders? I saw him again. I was perusing some manga at Borders when I heard someone […]

  3. Guimo Says:

    Once happened the same to me at borders as well. He noticed that I was looking at him. But I was too shy to go and give my mobile number.
    Last week was with a guy in Mc Donald’s, I’d nearly get another meal at his till point but I’m sure I’d never eat that meal again and didn’t want waste my money. Afterwards I was regretted about it, and yesterday he wasn’t in there anymore.
    I’ll keep trying.
    Nice post.
    Cya

  4. Boys Make Me Awkward « Normal Boy Says:

    […] As I was leaving, I ran into the cute boy who works at Borders. I was walking downstairs as he was walking upstairs […]

  5. A Familiar Face « Normal Boy Says:

    […] at the buffet to decide what to put on my second plate, I was surprised to see a familiar face: the cute boy from Borders! I think he noticed me first; I did a double take to recognize him. He’s taller […]


Leave a Reply

«

